Clinic Appointment 044-7102 6600, +91-7667999725 ( 9am - 5pm)

The Institutional Review Board (IRB) was established in 1999 to approve, monitor, and review biomedical and behavioral research conducted at YRGCARE to protect the rights and welfare of human participants taking part in research and evaluation assessments conducted at or sponsored by YRGCARE. This is done through a review of protocols, informed consent documents, case report forms, and other research/evaluation documents. Ethical considerations are also carefully evaluated. Regular meets are held once in a month or as necessary to address ongoing and upcoming studies. Virtual meetings are being held currently in view of pandemic situation. Members are trained in bioethics and good clinical practices, and attend continuing bioethics training facilitated by the IRB Secretariat to keep abreast of latest developments in the field.

Profiles of Members

Dr. C.N. Paramasivan

PhD in Medical Microbiology and DSc., is an elected Fellow of National Academy of Medical Science (FAMS) and served as Head of Microbiology Division at Tuberculosis Research Institute. He has made several important contributions to tuberculosis research. He is a pioneer in the introduction of TB diagnostic technologies in resource poor, high endemic countries. He currently serves as Senior Scientific Advisor at FIND India.

Dr. Saradha Suresh

The Former Director & Superintendent, Institute of Child Health & Hospital for Children, with experience of more than 30 years in Pediatric (15 in Neonatal) research.

Mr. K Arumugam

Holds a Diploma in Mechanical Engineering, and is a senior executive in marketing at Arex Industries Ltd., . He has more than 19 years of business experience and 8 years teaching experience in an industrial training institute.

Mr. Benjamin Franklin

Senior Consultant (Training Management) has 38 years experience as Executive Director/ Executive Secretary of an NGO, responsible for administration, management and field based activities. Has supervised programs in different areas and has conducted training and orientation.

Dr. R Ramakrishnan

Formerly with the National Institute of Epidemiology (Indian Council of Medical Research) as Scientist G. He has held areas pertaining to Epidemiology Surveillance and monitoring of communicable diseases. He has over 30 years experience in medical statistics, with over 10 years of it related to epidemiology. He headed the Departments of Biostatistics; e-learning and Bioethics at the National Institute of Epidemiology (NIE) and currently is a consultant there.

Dr. Jyotirmay Biswas

An ophthalmologist who has specialized in uveitis and ophthalmic pathology. He is a member of International Uveitis Study Group and executive council member of International. Currently he is the director of the Uveitis and Ophthalmic Pathology departments at Sankara Nethralaya, Chennai.

Dr. A Nalini

Former Director of Education, Saveetha University., She has also served in various capacities as a pathologist at various government medical colleges in Tamil Nadu. She has completed the Erasmus Mundus Master of Bioethics Course.

Dr. Chithra A Devaraj

Clinician, YRGCARE serves adults and children living with HIV. Her current responsibilities include diagnosis, treatment and prevention of HIV and allied research activities. She is a Family Physician with over 3 ½ decades of experience and believes in practicing holistic medicine including lifestyle changes, physical and psychological well-being, coupled with the building of strong support systems.

Dr. C B Tharani

Professor and head of the department of pharmacology at Saveetha University. She has taught undergraduates and postgraduate students for 36 years. She is an examiner in many universities and a PhD guide Tamil Nadu Dr MGR Medical University.

Dr. Malathy Duraisamy

Professor of Economics, IIT Madras. She is a Member, Senate, National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirapalli. She has published extensively in international & national journals.

Mr. M Aravind Subramaniam,

An attorney-at-law for 26 years and has served as counsel for cases appearing before various High Courts including Bombay, Delhi, Bangalore, Nagpur, and Kolkata. A member in the Editorial Committee of the Tamil Nadu Law Journal (TNLJ) Notes, a leading Law Journal in Tamil Nadu.

Ms. Sheila Jayprakash

Holds a master’s degree in Zoology with specialization in entomology, and a Law degree. She has practiced as an attorney for 35 years. She is an active member of committees working to amend or draft laws like PWDVA and Mental Health Act. She has presented the NGO Alternate Report before the Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) committee in the UN in 2000 and 2007 on violence against women. She works with several NGOs all over India on enforcing rights of women and other vulnerable social groups.

Dr. S Swarnalakshmi

The IRB Manager and IRB Member Secretary, with YRGCARE, coordinating activities and meetings pertaining to IRB and the Community Advisory Board (CAB) of YRGCARE. She has been a faculty in national and international workshops and conferences on bioethics. She holds a Post Graduate Diploma in Bioethics from Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU).